Tags

,

I firmly believe crafting should be a team sport, so I’m going to ask y’all to assist with my Olympic wreath.

I know I am several days late, but I was out of town being professional for the opening ceremonies. So instead of the planned opening ceremonies party, my friends are having a closing ceremonies party next week. I am in charge of the wreath. I had such grand “creative” visions of a 3/4 laurel wreath ala this headpiece from Preschool Crafts For Kids (preferably with more realism) with the Olympic rings filling in the gap.

The chain of greenery seemed to be the best thing that I could find (maybe I should have gone with construction paper!), but it was so long it wrapped around the wreath form and kept going.

I secured the chain of greenery to the wreath form with a combination of twist ties and pipe cleaners (notice I chose GOLD pipe cleaners).

First I made a paper ring chain in the Olympic colors, but the wreath was too heavy and misshaped the rings. So I hung the wreath with a red, white, and blue striped ribbon from the Fourth of July.

I played around with others ways to create the rings with scrapbook paper scraps, but I just wasn’t happy with it. Eventually, I just put the last concoction in the middle of the wreath to make it look more Olympic.

I really wanted the colors to show more, so I’m not really happy with this. I have a few days before our closing ceremonies party – who has ideas for me? Since the Winter Olympic Games and Summer Olympic Games alternate every two years, I’m not going to give up on this one.

