Tags

,

In my last post, I alluded to a project I am working on for Creative Converting. When they post the entire thing I will share it with you, but for now I thought I would give you a sneak peek and teach you how to make Witches Brew Mocktails for your Halloween party.

The first step of this project was painting the “glasses” I used plastic margarita stemware for this project because I thought the margarita shape was more generic than a wine glass so potentially more appropriate for kids, while the stemware made it just a bit fancier.

I just used acrylic paint and let it drip down the sides of the upside down stemware, adding more half way through to give it a thicker, more detailed look. Maybe you will get it right the first time, but I didn’t.

Once the paint was dry, the stemware was ready to go. The “Witches Brew” is simply my favorite all natural ginger ale and a few drops of green food coloring. I had green sugar sprinkles left over from Mardi Gras.

I dipped the rim of each creepy cocktail “glass” into a bowl of water then into a plate of sprinkles to sugar the rims, poured the colored ginger ale “Witches Brew” into the stemware, and topped each mocktail off with a gummy worm and a fancy bat straw.

The plastic stemware is light enough for a child to lift it safely, but the straw is added protection against green spots on a white table cloth.

