Tags

,

We love Halloween; everyone loves a good ghost story, right? There is just something fun about the macabre, especially in a house with little boys. Sometimes I use family dinner as a way to teach about lesser known holidays, but this Halloween place setting is about the fun of a spooky story and maybe trying to gross each other out a bit because that is what boys do.

  1. A small sampling of treats – some candy but also small toys – pre-set keeps short attention spans occupied, allowing you to make the event more dramatic, bringing out freaky food from the kitchen with a flourish and a story.glow in the dark glitter skeleton treat bag
  2. A small bag of plastic spiders can go a long way. There were some in each child’s treat cup and bag, but they also attach easily to plastic utensils (it’s all in the details) and coordinated nicely with the spider web chargers.Halloween tablescape
  3. I think I had the most fun making the Witches Brew Mocktails. I just took an all natural variety of ginger ale and added a couple of drops of green food coloring. A green sugared rim and gummy worms can complete the look, but every kid needs a bat straw. I especially like that the Creative Converting margarita glasses are plastic and light enough for a child to lift safely, although the straws do help keep the food coloring off the table cloth.HPG Witches Brew Mocktail
  4. Next time, I would use one of the coffin utensil caddys to hold extra napkins because there can never be too many napkins when kids are involved.HPG Halloween tablescape
  5. White candlesticks become instantly creepy when red wax is drippeddown the sides.Skull fireplace
  6. Hanging the skull in front of the fireplace is a really strong statement, while other decorations often blend in on the mantle or side tables. While he is meant to be hung in a window, I really like the look of the candles glowing behind him.

I love creating a festive atmosphere in my home. Sometimes it is nice to have “parties” that are just us. As the kids get older and older, I am sure my decor is going to have to go from spooky to creepy, but I am sure it will be a fun challenge.

This post was originally written for the Party People blogCreative Converting provided all the supplies mentioned in this post. Opinions, as always, are entirely my own. 

