Tags

, , , ,

Happy Fall Y’all! While I love Autumn, I never hurry the end of Summer with it’s sunshine and warm days. I relish football and boots and sweaters and hot drinks and leaves and especially Halloween, but I don’t look forward to the cold and snow of Winter. Decorating for Halloween started to get me in the spirit, but last weekend I really got into the spirit of the season.

picking apples

After visiting The Children’s Museum Guild’s annual haunted house, we braved the misty weather to visit Tuttle Orchard and pick some apples.  Actually, we picked a lot of apples – filling two wagons. I made an apple pie and some apple chips, and EW has been eating apples like they are going out of style, but most of the apples will be turned into applesauce which we will stock our freezer with for the year. I already have lots of blueberries in the freezer; this weekend, I also loaded it with a quarter hog and six large jars of butternut squash soup (my two squashes were so large I had to add a lot of broth and milk). I guess part of Fall is preparing for hibernation.

Crockpot Applesauce

Makes 5-6 jars which can be frozen

  1. Peel as many apples as you need to fill your crockpot (or less if you don’t want to make so much)
  2. Sprinkle in cinnamon and nutmeg – approximately 1T cinnamon and 1t nutmeg
  3. Cook on low for 10-12 hours, depending on how chunky you might want it
  4. Enjoy your applesauce warm or jar and freeze. Defrost frozen applesauce in the refrigerator.
