Tags

, , , ,

I am blogging this not because I have the perfect recipe, but because I want to perfect the recipe. I only make this once a year and in 364 days I won’t recall what tweaks I want to make. (I started from this recipe, but made some variations due to my food allergies.) Vasilopita is a Greek New Year’s tradition. gluten free vasilopita HPG

• 3/4 cup of butter or dairy-free sub (room temperature)
• 1 1/2 cups of coconut palm sugar (coconut palm sugar gives a slight-carmel flavor to foods)
• 6 large eggs
• 1/2 cup of brandy or rum
• zest of 2-4 oranges (can sub some lemon zest)
• juice of 2-4 oranges
• 3-4 cups of Pamela’s Products Gluten Free Artisan Flour Blend (I used Pamela’s Products Baking and Pancake Mix, but it is not entirely dairy-free and I think the Artisan blend will give a nicer texture)
• 3/4 cup of canned coconut milk
• 1 coin wrapped in foil
• confectioner’s sugar (optional)
• grated coconut (optional)
• marmalade (optional sub lemon curd)

Pre-heat oven to 390F. Butter and flour two 9″ round cake pans.

This is one of those recipes where you are very thankful for your Kitchenaid. Cream the butter substitute, then slowly add the sugar, eggs, brandy or rum, zest, juice, milk, then flour. (I might consider adding a bit of cinnamon next time)

Divide batter between two cake pans. Bake for 20 minutes then carefully insert foil-wrapped coin parallel to where you might slice the cake. Bake for another 20 minutes. Allow cakes to fully cook (up to four hours).

Layer cakes with marmalade between the layers and on top of the cake. Decorate with powdered sugar and grated coconut. Get creative! I have also seen versions with a thick brandy icing poured over the top of the Vasilopita.

Just after midnight (or in the morning if you have little ones), the head of the household cuts the Vasilopita, wishing good fortune in the new year to all who are present. Pieces are handed out from eldest to youngest. Whoever finds the coin in their piece of Vasilopita is said to have an extra measure of good fortune in the new year.

coin in new years cake HPG

